Not logged inThe Guild of Free Traders - Discussion Forum
Forum The Guild of Free Traders Help Login
Up Topic Public Area / Hardware Help and Settings / Joystick ... What is good to use ?
- By uncopan Date 2013-05-16 10:38
I'm considering again to go from mouse to joysticks. I found 2 that seems to be ok. But i have NO experience with a joystick. ( last time i tried i died in to oruns )

So here are 2 links i found :
http://www-itgalaxy-ro.allshops.ro/produs/5188138/Joystick+Cyborg-MadCatz+V.1.html

http://www-itgalaxy-ro.allshops.ro/produs/5188142/Joystick+Cyborg-MadCatz+F.L.Y.+5.html

What do you recommend ?
- By Wild Gramps Date 2013-05-16 12:43
When I first started playing VO, I managed to kill 2 joysticks in about a year.  Some of them just don't stand up to the continual use necessary to play the game.  I finally got some advise from a guildie who had been using the same one for a long time.  Since I bought that one, I am still using it very effectively.  It is a CH Products Pro Joystick.  But I warn anyone ahead of time it is expensive compared to most of the joysticks that are offered but by all means do not buy a cheap joystick unless you want to replace it every 6 months.  Joystick maneuvering is different than using a mouse in game.  Also what I finally settled on doing in game is to use the mouse with my right hand and joystick with my left hand in a combination.  That may not work for all people but is something that might be considered.

My biggest problem with mouse alone, was trying to make sharp turns without having to lift and relocate the mouse because sensitivity settings to make that work made it extremely hard to use the mouse accurately in the menus.  My joystick is extremely sensitive and my mouse is not at this point in time.  I do often use the joystick for quick turning and such and fine control it with the mouse.

Hope that makes sense!!
- By uncopan Date 2013-05-16 17:18